2010 San Joaquin Valley Blueprint Awards Announced

Nov 4, 2010

In an effort to recognize projects that are “Blueprint friendly”, the Valley’s regional planning agencies created an awards program specifically designed for this purpose.  Nominations were solicited from throughout the San Joaquin Valley for smart growth projects. The judges reviewed the nominations and selected several for their efforts to reflect the Blueprint Principles.  We are pleased to announce this year’s Blueprint Awards recipients.

The following awards were presented by the Regional Policy Council at the Fall Policy Conference luncheon on October 7, 2010 in Modesto, CA (www.stancog.org )

2010 Blueprint Awards Announcement

Award of Achievement
Residential Development Project
Villa Monterey Apartments, Stockton CA 

Award of Achievement
Mixed Use Project
Wagner Woods, Ripon, CA 

Award of Achievement
Downtown Revitalization Project
City of Riverbank - Downtown Revitalization

Award of Achievement
Historic Preservation
Avenal – Theater Restoration Project

Award of Achievement
Revitalization – Unincorporated Area
Woodbridge Revitalization Project

Award of Achievement
Darrel Hildebrand Blueprint Leadership Award
Lew Nelson, City of Tulare Public Works Director 

The Blueprint Principles were used as the criteria to judge the project submittals.

The Award Judges represent several sectors:

  • City of Merced – Mayor Bill Spriggs
  • Fresno Council of Governments – Tony Boren, Executive Director
  • American Planning Association – Ralph Kachadourian, City Planner, Sanger
  • American Institute of Architects – Dave Phillips, AIA
  • Federal Reserve Bank, San Francisco – Darryl Rutherford
  • Building Industry Association – Mike Prandini
  • At Large – Bruce O’Neal