Valley COGs

Fresno Council of Governments
Fresno COG represents 16 member agencies including Fresno County and the cities of Clovis, Coalinga, Firebaugh, Fowler, Fresno, Huron, Kerman, Kingsburg, Mendota, Orange Cove, Parlier, Reedley, San Joaquin, Sanger, and Selma. Mayors from each of the cities and the chairman of the county supervisors sit on the COG 16-member Policy Board. The Policy Board directed and oversaw the Fresno COG Blueprint process, and ultimately selected a preferred growth scenario. The Policy Board was advised by the Fresno COG Blueprint Roundtable throughout the process. The Roundtable met monthly during the visioning and growth scenario planning phases to discuss and make recommendations on the Blueprint. Fresno COG Policy Board endorsed the Fresno Blueprint concept on May 29, 2008. In 2009 the Fresno COG took over the Valley Blueprint management role previously filled by MCAG (see below for additional information about the role of MCAG).

Kern Council of Governments
Kern COG represents 12 member agencies including Kern County and the cities of Arvin, Bakersfield, California City, Delano, Maricopa, McFarland, Ridgecrest, Shafter, Taft, Tehachapi, and Wasco. City council members from each of the incorporated cities, two county supervisors, and ex-officio members representing Caltrans, the Golden Empire Transit District, and the Joint Planning Policy Board make up the Kern COG Board of Directors. To guide development of the Blueprint, Kern COG created four Roundtable groups: Planning Directors Roundtable, Community and Economic Development Directors Roundtable, Environmental and Social Equity Roundtable, and Business and Industry Roundtable. Kern COG staff participated in the Roundtable meetings and relied on input from the Roundtables to develop the structure of and content for the public outreach meetings. Kern COG staff updated the Kern COG Board monthly on the status of the Kern Regional Blueprint Program. The Kern COG Board of Directors approved the Final Report and preferred scenario on November 20, 2008.

Kings County Association of Governments
KCAG represents five member agencies including Kings County and the cities of Avenal, Corcoran, Hanford, and Lemoore. KCAG is governed by a commission of two county supervisors and one city council representative from each of the cities. A Kings County Blueprint Planners Group consisting of local planners was created to provide direction to KCAG staff throughout the Blueprint effort. KCAG staff communicated regularly with local advisory boards, city councils, and the County Board of Supervisors to keep them apprised of Blueprint progress. The KCAG Commission approved the KCAG Blueprint Principles and the KCAG Preferred Growth Alternative in August 2008.

Madera County Transportation Committee
MCTC represents three member agencies including Madera County and the cities of Chowchilla and Madera. MCTC is governed by a Policy Board of three county supervisors, two city council members from the City of Madera, and a city council member from the City of Chowchilla. MCTC formed the Madera Blueprint Roundtable Committee early in the Blueprint process to facilitate a more focused discussion of the Blueprint and its implications for local agency planning efforts. The Madera Roundtable included planning staff from each of the cities and the county. MCTC staff facilitated all the Madera Roundtable meetings and provided the Policy Board with detailed information on public workshop input, Blueprint scenario development, and performance measures.

The MCTC Policy Board approved the Madera County Blueprint Report on September 17, 2008. The Report reflected a consensus among the Policy Board and Blueprint Roundtable that the Low Change scenario was most appropriate for Madera County. On May 20, 2009, the MCTC Policy Board reaffirmed support for the eight Blueprint principles developed during the Madera County Blueprint process.

Merced County Association of Governments
MCAG represents seven member agencies including Merced County and the cities of Atwater, Dos Palos, Gustine, Livingston, Los Banos, and Merced. The MCAG Governing Board includes all five county supervisors and a city council member from each of the six incorporated cities. MCAG worked with an MCAG Planners Roundtable to develop the alternative growth scenarios.

MCAG coordinated the Valley Blueprint planning process including grant administration, coordination, and outreach from the beginning in 2006 through the approval of the Valley Blueprint vision and principles in 2009. In 2009 MCAG transferred management responsibilities for Valley Blueprint implementation to Fresno COG.

San Joaquin Council of Governments
SJCOG represents eight member agencies including San Joaquin County and the cities of Escalon, Lathrop, Lodi, Manteca, Ripon, Stockton, and Tracy. SJCOG is governed by a Board of Directors made up of three county supervisors, three elected officials from the City of Stockton, and one elected official from each of the other six jurisdictions. In addition, representatives from Caltrans District 10, the San Joaquin Regional Transit District, and the Port of Stockton played an advisory role to the SJCOG Board of Directors. SJCOG created two advisory groups: the Blueprint Leadership Group and the Blueprint Planners Roundtable. Both groups were responsible for reviewing staff work, providing input on the process, and recommending actions to the SJCOG Board of Directors. The Blueprint Leadership Group consisted of local community stakeholders representing a variety of interests, including local builders/developers, State/local agencies and advisory boards, advocacy groups, economic development, public transit agencies, farming/agribusinesses, citizen groups, environmental protection organizations, and educators. The Blueprint Planners Roundtable consisted of planning/community development directors from each jurisdiction in the county. SJCOG staff was responsible for the administrative, technical, and facilitation aspects of the process.

Stanislaus Council of Governments
Stan COG represents 10 member agencies including Stanislaus County and the cities of Ceres, Hughson, Modesto, Newman, Oakdale, Patterson, Riverbank, Turlock, and Waterford. Stan COG is governed by a 17-member Policy Board which includes the five county supervisors and electedofficials from each city.

Tulare County Association of Governments
TCAG represents nine member agencies including Tulare County and the cities of Dinuba, Exeter, Farmersville, Lindsay, Porterville, Tulare, Visalia, and Woodlake. TCAG is governed by a 17-member Board of Governors that includes the five county supervisors and elected officials from each of the cities, three at-large members, and a representative from Caltrans. As part of the local Blueprint process, TCAG established a Local Planners Group that regularly advised TCAG on Blueprint scenarios and policies.